Kirsten H Zdm

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Bad AC Experience

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Original review Aug 29, 2023
My AC stopped working and there was water all over the floor near the unit. We called AHS who sent a tech out, who rigged some things to get it to turn back on, but told us there were $2K in repairs needed. We called CoolRay out to get a second opinion. They told us there was nothing wrong with the AC. There was a leak from a pipe that caused the water, which tripped the moisture sensor on the AC unit. They fixed the rigging done by the AHC contractor and then fixed the pipe. Not only did I have to pay to get their bad work fixed, they tried to scam me out of $2K.
View full review
Loss:
$334
Cons:
  • No matter what is needed it is never fully covered

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Do not use AHS, there are other home warranty companies.

Nancy Knudson

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Timeframe for repair

Submitted request for dryer repair 9/20/23 and had service call from contractor 9/25/23. The repair was approved by AHS but no updates were provided to the contractor or myself on who is ordering parts and when I can get it repaired. The worst part though out of everything was calling AHS and getting call centers in third-world countries so I had to deal with language barriers and their lack of information. I am ready to change companies. I really resent calling any company based in the US and reaching third-world countries.
View full review

Preferred solution: Updates and repairs are done in a timely manner

User's recommendation: Find a company that does NOT send their calls offshore and communicates with you about service requests and provides updates.

Jaivion Zae

Is there a less than 1 to rate this company. Poorest customer service I have ever encountered.

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I waited over a year to get an A/C unit replaced. First company AHS sent came and said they would be in touch. Never heard from them. AHS told me that that company was unable to service my unit. The second company they "picked" never contacted me. Found out they went out of business. Finally the third company was able to help me. AHS asked that company why they were calling about an A/C in November! Haha The third company explained that this started in June of 2022! I called today (7/18/2023) to cancel my contract! What a joke. Such a runaround. The first representative wanted to know why I was cancelling. Transferred me to the Cancellation area. This person again asked why I was cancelling. I told them that I was not giving them that information. It was an invasion of my privacy. Put me on hold to process the cancellation. Came back and told me the cancellation was processed and he needed to read to me the cancellation information. Told me I owed them money for cancelling. Immediately sent me an email showing the amount I owe AHS. Really? I think not. Funny how quickly this was done. I composed and email asking for detailed information on how they came up with the numbers that they did. I want them "to show their work" (just like in school). There is no email address anywhere on the website. I called to get an email address and got the runaround again. They needed to know my contract number, my name, my address, etc. The person I spoke with hemmed and hawwed and just could not give me an email address. She put me on hold and when she came back it was the "so that I can better assist you, I need to know some details"... NOT That right there tells me that this company has a lot to hide. If they cannot display/provide an email address that is an indication they do not want to hear from their customers. Every time I call their company, I get the "all of our representatives are assisting other customers..." I have spent more time on hold with this company than any other company, even a hospital or doctor's office! And trying to understand the representatives is a challenge. "Promised" return calls are never returned. Never able to talk to a Supervisor. This company is terrible to work with.
View full review
Loss:
$168
Cons:
  • Hard to understand representatives
  • Terrible customer service and no solutions
  • Difficult to deal with

Preferred solution: I am not paying them money to cancel my contract.

User's recommendation: Save your money. Do not do business with AHS. It is frustrating. They are only interested in making money.

Africa Wxm

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

AC repair

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Updated by user Aug 14, 2023

Still waiting for repair 3 weeks and counting. Talked to customer service and same response. no change after 3 weeks

Original review Aug 14, 2023
Where do I even begin with my dreadful encounter with American Home Shield? This company's services are nothing short of a complete disaster. From the very first interaction, it was evident that they care more about collecting premiums than actually providing any meaningful assistance. First off, their customer service is an absolute joke. I've spent more time on hold than I care to admit, only to be met with unhelpful representatives who seemed completely clueless about the issues I was facing. It's as if they read from a script without any understanding of the real problems customers are dealing with. But wait, it gets worse. When I finally managed to get a technician scheduled to fix my malfunctioning air conditioner, it took them days to even show up. In the scorching heat of summer, this delay was not only uncomfortable but completely unacceptable. The AC company came in and told me what was wrong and submitted to AHS and still nothing, they keep saying that nothing was submitted, which is BS. Still waiting 3 weeks for AHS to approve the repairs. Talk with service reps they say the exact same BS.
View full review
Loss:
$700
Pros:
  • No pros unless you like to wait and lose money
Cons:
  • All cons do not follow through with the job

Preferred solution: I would like them to authorize the repair so I can have AC in the summer months in Las Vegas

User's recommendation: RUN FAR AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY SUCH A SCAM

Helene L Sfz

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Denial of coverage central air

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I LIVE IN CENTRAL TEAXAS AS YUO ARE AWARE WE. ARE HAVING AN EXTREME HEATWAVE. I CALLED IN JUNE AN ASERVICE TECH CAME OUT PUMPED FREON INTO UNIT ,CHARGED 260.00 DOOLARS AND THE UNIT WORKED. UNIT STARTED BLOWING HOT AIR ,CALLRD AND PAID 75.00 CHARGE AGAIN,TECH WALIKED AROUND SAID MY COST WOULD BE 3100 DOLLARS AND HE WOULD CONTACT AHS.DIDN,T HEAR ANYTHING FROM AHS .CALLED AGAIN AND PAID 75.00DOLLARS AGAIN FOR A SECOND OPINION.ON THE DASHBOARD THEY SAID I WASN,T COVERED.I CALLED AHS CUSTOMER SERVICE AND SHE SAID THEY WOULD ESCALATE THIS.I HAVE BEEN A CUSTEMER OF YOURS SINCE1989 .I,M ALSO IN MY 70,S COULD YOUPLEASE GET MY CENTRAL AIR FIXED
View full review

Preferred solution: Central air fixed

Harpalsinh C Yhe

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Livermore, California

Worst Membership cancelation service

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Original review Aug 22, 2023
I have called AHS customer service multiple times in the last several months to cancel the contract. They are not taking my cancellation request and have been asking me to call some cancellation department whenever I talk to customer service. I have also been charged all these months in spite of multiple requests. When I put a cancellation request again recently, they told me it has to be initiated by the previous customer service representative. They always try to ignore my cancellation request and there is no straight forward process to request cancellation where you can submit this directly. I want my cancellation request to be accepted through this channel.
View full review

User's recommendation: Be mindful to the service providers and check their cancelation policy.

Resolved
Emmy C

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Resolved: Complaint about overcharge with service provider

Updated by user Aug 10, 2023

American Home Shield will investigate this provider, Safe Cali Plumbing.

Original review Aug 10, 2023
Water heater needed replacing. Safe-cali plumbing was sent. They over charged me for bringing water heater up to code. When I researched I found other customers with Home Shield that suffered the same complaint. By over charge I mean a $25 pan cost me $250. The total cost to bring my water heater y&up to code was $1825. This was after paying warranty fees and for visit.
View full review
Loss:
$900
Pros:
  • Quick service and always polite
Cons:
  • Providers

Preferred solution: For them to investigate this provider and their exorbitant charges.

User's recommendation: Don’t use Safe Cali Plumbing

Anonymous
map-marker Portland, Texas

HOT!!

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
It took over a month for us to get our a/c replaced during the 100-103 temps in the summer. Waited on contractor for more than 48 hours, more like 4 days or so. Then found out it needed replacing. That took more time than it should to get approved, close to a week. Then we had to wait for the equipment to be delivered which was nearly two weeks. Then when it arrived the contractor set us up for the next day then cancelled and had to reschedule. Ridiculous. Also they kept jacking our prices up every few years. Went from $80 something to $130 with no notice whatsoever. We had pretty good experience with all other service calls but this was horrible. Cancelled immediately.
View full review

User's recommendation: Find another company!!!

Anonymous
map-marker Spring, Texas

This had been the worst experiance ever. I placeed a request Aug 2 and have not had anyone come out, I called serveral times to ask for another vender but t

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
This had been the worst experience ever. I placed a request Aug 2 and have not had anyone come out, I called several times to ask for another vendor, but they have yet to correct the issue. I was told I was told I did not submit a recall. He told me I was incorrect. So I gave him the date and dispatch number. Then he said they came but i was home, but he could not give me a date. The call went on for an hr. and he end up hanging up on me.
View full review
Tina A Eae

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Complaints (real bad one)!!!

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I cant reach the authorization department to resolve my service issue. My air conditioning unit broke in AZ and the temperature is over 110 degrees. I have to stay at hotel but no one responded to the request after one week and there is no email contact either. It is not acceptable for what AHS has done. They dont honor the service contract and continue to play games with the customers. I am very upset. I am going to spread my words to the rest of friends and family. I also will report to the state of attorney and BBB.
View full review
Loss:
$14000

Preferred solution: We have three estimates from certified professionals regarding the air conditioning unit replacement. AHS needs to honor the quote and get our AC fixed asap!

User's recommendation: Don’t sign up AHS insurance. It is unethical!

1 comment
Guest

Have you reported to BBB and state attorney general ? I did. Keep reporting them and we also need to file class action lawsuits

Kraig M Yys

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Failure to fulfill contract

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I have been waiting to get a hot water heater fixed for 3 months. The current one was installed by an AHS contractor in 2016 who no longer works with your company. After I waited 6 weeks AHS notified me that they could not find a vendor and gave me permission to do so. I quickle found a vendor who diagnosed the issue and discussed it at length with your representative, After hearing nothing for 2 weeks I called and was told I would need a second opinion that AHS would arrange. That person came out this morning and stated that they could not complete the diagnosis as the gas was disconnected, which was done by a previous vendor for safety reasons. I was present while he discussed it with a representative whom he told that they need to move forward with the repairs with my vendor. I am now being told that is not happening and I have been waiting 30 minutes to speak to an escalation specialist which the rep initially refused to forward me to. I am extremely upset. I have 4 contracts with AHS and have been a costumer for over 2 decades. This may be a new low for me in dealing with AHS. Please assist.
View full review
Loss:
$300
Cons:
  • Poor customer service

Preferred solution: My water heater fixed

User's recommendation: Avoid

Samantha D Owt

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Unhappy-8 Weeks to get new AC

My AC unit went out 7/12/2023-filed a claim that day-my new AC was installed Sept 7th...do you see my problem with this? I went through 8 weeks without an ac unit-I had to go buy 2 portable ac's to make my home bearable in triple digit heat(Wamego, KS)-This is unacceptable dont you think that 8 weeks was crazy long to wait for a replacement? I would like compensation on the purchase of the 2 portable ac units and the refund on the $885 that I had to pay on top of that to the contracting company for install of new system-Please reply to this message
View full review

Preferred solution: Full refund

PG Fmf

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

*** poor service

Scheduled a service request on 9/4/2023 for leak under sink and gurgling sound coming from tub. Checks status of service request, it has been closed. Call get get new service request, vendor/contractor NEVER responds. Today is 9/18/2023; I have spoken to 4 reps who have stated this SR has been escalated and nothing has been resolved!!!
View full review

Preferred solution: My items serviced, I pay a monthly fee so I do not have to search for someone myself. AHS needs to fulfill the contract agreement…,,

User's recommendation: Weigh your options research other companies

Laine S Qiq

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Chula Vista, California

Cancel service immediately

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Original review Aug 13, 2023
While waiting on hold for someone to answer your CS number, I went on line to find out why my monthly service had increased. I was asked to pay $5 to discuss my problem with an expert. And, no one ever answered the call. Since then, I've sent a request to speak with a representative, but you will not respond. Please cancel my service immediately. It may be difficult, but I will attempt to find service with a company who appears to care about the customer. L Shaw (7/3/23)
View full review

Preferred solution: Service cancelled

Matthew K Jnf

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Unresolved Service Request

American Home Shield - Unresolved Service Request
I have been a customer of AHS for several years and currently have four different properties with contracts. Most of my experience has been positive with your company with one glaring exception that needs to be re-opened and resolved immediately or I will need to consider legal action regarding this matter (and yes I am aware of the arbitration clause in the contract). I opened a service request for our Samsung refrigerator ice maker in July of 2022. The issue was that the ice maker was making ice at a rate only about a quarter of the speed as stated by the manufacturer and as the fridge had originally operated since we purchased it. That original problem has never been resolved and the situation was made worse over the course of the service visits since. Over the last year we had more than five different companies sent out by AHS (over 15 visits) across three separate work orders to try and resolve this (July 14, 2022, Nov 2, 2022, and March 27, 2022). Currently our ice maker is in much worse shape than it ever originally was as the ice maker not only is still slow, but it now won't fully close, makes slush, is stuck in crush mode, leaks water, and the water could potentially ruin the finish on the fridge and our wood floors. Over the course of these 15 or so visits, multiple parts were replaced, including the majority of the ice maker on two separate occasions by two separate companies. It is unclear to me why AHS continually changed the company doing the servicing, and in one of my conversations with AHS the representative agreed that it seemed to be a mistake that this was happening. The last company that AHS sent out - Ukon Appliance - showed up and stayed for less than 5 minutes after I explained that multiple other companies had already worked on the ice maker and had attempted to make repairs and had replaced the entirety of the ice maker twice. They left a copy of a work order with me and the man said he would need to talk to his manager to determine next steps. The company then reported back to AHS that this was an original manufacturer defect which is in complete contradiction from his notes on the work order. Further, this company has a reputation of not only being horrible but being accused of fraud in conjunction with companies like AHS where they show up and simply report this back to collect their service fee. My wife and I have tried contacting this company for more than a month to get their explanation of why they reported this and left over 30 voicemails. Not a single one has been returned. The company doesn't even have a monitored phone, it sends you directly to a voicemail. Their physical address on the website is not an office, it is a residential apartment building. Their rating on yelp is only 1.5 stars. This company's report of an original manufacturer defect is a complete lie as they knew first hand that the ice maker had already been replaced per their own paperwork that they left with me. AHS also knows this is the case given that multiple companies have already tried to work on the ice maker - there are records of parts that have been ordered and replaced multiple times across the three different service requests (even though this all stems from 1 issue that was never resolved). Given all of this AHS needs to re-open this immediately and provide resolution for this issue per the contract or I will be forced to seek legal action and cancel all my current contracts with AHS.
View full review

Preferred solution: My ice maker fixed or fridge replaced.

User's recommendation: Avoid this company and service provider

1 comment
Guest

LOL legal action over an ice maker? Just replace the ice maker you ***