filters
State:
Show
City:
Show
Product:
Show
1.8
Details

Update by user Oct 24

Noticed some errors in my original text. I had NOT called them for a preseason check and thought stuff wasn't covered due to this fact. (That's what meant say.)If you see their logo when buying a house, decline the service.I didn't renew my contract and this the third...

View full review
Resolved
Review
#1689412 Review #1689412 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
American Home Shield Warranty
Pros
  • Customer service was professional
Cons
  • Refusal to pay for my repair
Reason of review
Not as described/ advertised
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
Tags
  • Home Shield
  • Roof Repair
  • Boiler Repair
1.0
Details
Last winter the motor went out in my inside heating blower. The company they sent out after coming out to survey the problem brought out the wrong motor and came again with the wrong motor again and we never heard from of them again. I had to buy a motor myself and...
View full review
Resolved
Review
#1673674 Review #1673674 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
hidden fees
Loss
$200
Preferred solution
Full refund

Update by user Jan 26

After a few tries I finally got someone that spoke English understood that 3 degrees what's cold the representative was able to expedite my service call and someone was over this morning to fix the issue

Original review posted by user Jan 25

It is currently 3:17pm. I have been on the phone since 1:30pm. I...
View full review
5 comments
Sheonna B
#1636437

A little more than two hours and four phone calls I finally got a wreck that understood what he meant to live on the east coast and people without a heater my service was expedited and it took all of ten minutes for the mechanic to replace an igniter am I heat to be back on

View more comments
Resolved
Review
#1456915 Review #1456915 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
American Home Shield Customer Care
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Preferred solution
Service SOON
4.6
Details

Update by user Aug 28, 2018

Explained the process with me and restored my confidence in them. They even reached out to my contractor personally in response to my issues. Problem solved.

Update by user Aug 28, 2018

Update:8/28/18 I received a call from AHS. Impressed they took the time and was genuinely concerned with my...

View full review
5 comments
Anonymous
#1531316

AHS has a select network of contractors in each area. They don’t randomly select contractors in a market.

They seek out small, struggling outfits, and promise them a high volume of calls. AHS only uses a couple of “preferred” contractors in each city, often sending them from another city. Why? To control their costs, and the players in the game.

If you are an AHS customer, you also are a player in their game. The contractors learn the game by playing. The rules are not spelled out up front by AHS. The AHS computer algorithm sends ALL the calls in an area to their main preferred contractor in an area, to the contractor that has the lowest cost per call average to AHS.

The cost per call guidelines are established every year by AHS, and it never goes up. For an HVAC call, it is around $200, but is much lower for plumbing and other trades. What does this mean to the consumer? It means that AHS pays a flat rate for each call, regardless of the work needed or performed.

They will never admit this. Why? The contractor can bill AHS whatever he wants, but if he wants to continue with AHS, he can’t do that. He keeps the AHS cost at the target price, regardless of his actual cost, because he becomes increasingly dependent on the promised high volume of AHS calls.

Meaning that extra service trucks were purchased, more technicians were hired, and their own business reputation and clientele were sacrificed in order to service disgruntled AHS customers, of which you may be one. The contractor learns which calls they are forced to lose money on, and which calls they will break even on. They learn to read the coverage of each policy to know what is non-covered, and then they search for those items at the customer’s home. Since the contractor is losing money on most of the AHS calls, the non-covered items are of great importance.

That’s where any profit working for AHS can be found, and nowhere else. That’s why refrigerant, code upgrades and modifications cost so much. The contractor can’t survive without the non-covered items. The customers are livid that they have to pay these costs.

They want to avoid these costs in any way possible. Good, honest people, will stop payment, refuse to pay for services rendered, lie, cheat or even threaten bodily harm to the contractors because of these costs. AHS is behind it, and they know exactly what they’re doing. The contractor also learns to look for denials.

He gets paid the same $200 from AHS whether he replaces or rebuilds the whole machine, or tells AHS it was a power surge, which is not covered. Most of the equipment covered by AHS looks like it has been struck by lightening anyway, that’s why their customers buy these policies in the first place. All the inexpensive repairs have all ready been done. Back to why they only use one or 2 companies in an area, making the customers wait long periods for service.

Once the loss leader contractor gets booked up, and the delays are outside of AHS guidelines, the AHS computer algorithm sends calls to their second contractor, who either has worse survey scores, higher costs, or both. They are also the ones that get sent out on second opinions, to give the same opinion as the first company. Their operating guidelines are the same, and they are competing with the first company to keep AHS’ costs down, so they can get more calls. When AHS customer service decides in favor of the customer to cover something or concession costs for the customer, it doesn’t mean AHS is paying for it.

It means THE CONTRACTOR is paying for it, parts and labor, out of their own pocket, without reimbursement. If the contractor bills AHS more than the low target amount, remember, they will lose future AHS calls, and company 2 will become company 1. Once AHS orders the repair to be made, getting the work completed becomes the next challenge. It takes so long, often weeks or months, because the low target amount billed to AHS has already happened after the initial service call.

No more money will come from AHS on that repair. Equipment and parts come out of the contractor’s pocket, so he is in no hurry. Meanwhile, he is bombarded with many other new AHS calls coming in, (with new service call $, where he can bill the low target amount) and other customers who are unhappily waiting for their drawn out repairs, where AHS can’t be billed. That’s why it takes so long for parts to come in.

The parts are in, or available, there is just no monetary incentive to go pick it up! Once the unsatisfied customer is having a fit, they go to the bottom of the stack, and they get the runaround. That’s why their calls to the contractor and AHS are unanswered. That’s why the contractor can’t be found.

The AHS customers are trying to beat AHS at a game that AHS invented. The customers are willing participants. They want a lot for a little, as promised. But if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is.

They can read the reviews, and then still decide to use AHS, hoping their situation or contractor will turn out differently. They might get lucky, but it is a gamble, and the odds are not in their favor.

View more comments
Resolved
Review
#1315682 Review #1315682 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Air Conditioner Repair
Reason of review
Order processing issue
1.0
Details

Update by user Mar 29

The ac company that AHS hired payed for a brand new unit, and AHS payed for the installation fees. I didn’t pay a dime, but I still didn’t renew my contract with AHS to avoid any future headaches.

Original review posted by user Sep 27, 2018

Filed a claim for my ac unit to be repaired, the contractor said the...
View full review
5 comments
Anonymous
#1569716

But you are going to wait on them, aren’t you, and let them come back and perform the *** job on your system? Of course you will, because you recognize that it will take far more than $540 or $840 to properly resolve your faulty ac unit.

You likely don’t even own $540. You know that a compressor changeout is not going to fix your ac problems, right? You are about to waste $540 that you probably don’t have, to further aggravate the situation. If your system is the older R22 refrigerant, you are about to make a costly mistake.

However, you don’t care because the way you figure, it is the only move you can make, and remain in this AHS game. If you don’t proceed with this I’ll-advised repair, it’s game over. If you pay the $540, and wait until the company finally works on your system (which they don’t want to do, in case you didn’t know, because it won’t fix it and they are going to spend more than $540 and AHS probably isn’t paying anything at all—)at least you’ll still be in the game, complaining how you are owed something for free. You won’t switch warranty companies, because you want to be in the position of being the aggrieved customer, who deserves restitution.

You don’t want the air to work, or if you really did, You would have accepted a cash out and hired someone on your own months ago. The newborn and the toddler deserve parents who will provide for them and not take part in scrimpy games with the necessities. You have yourself to blame, that you haven’t done your children right, if you are indeed living in a house with no air for 2 months during summer because you can’t hire a reasonable contractor yourself or buy a window unit or two. It’s a game, and you know it, using your toddler and infant like pawns, making them suffer because you can’t or won’t do the right thing.

It’s not AHS’s fault, it’s yours. Houses get old and items need replacing.

Going the warranty repair route should only go so far, and their comes a time when a homeowner should man up and put the family first. If you can’t, then perhaps homeownership is not for you.

View more comments
Resolved
Review
#1367025 Review #1367025 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Air Conditioner Repair
Reason of review
Order processing issue

Update by user Oct 15, 2018

Good afternoon, Our complaint/dispute with American Home Shield was resolved as of 10-9-2018, to our satisfaction. The process to resolve the dispute was a lengthy and difficult process. In my opinion, only when Consumer Affairs got involved in the review, did our...

View full review
2 comments
Anonymous
#1560644

Before they started requiring that co-pays be paid automatically when the service call is requested, AHS required the contractor to collect the fee up front or do without the service fee (and take a penalty for not collecting it up front) for a month and bill AHS. However, customers were refusing to pay it or wrote bad checks, and that was corrected by instant zapping of the service fee.

As an added bonus to AHS, the service fee money goes straight to AHS instead of the contractor who goes to the home, and the contractor still has to wait to get paid and take a deduction. Either way it is collected, the service fee is due at the beginning of the service, not at the end, much like a doctor’s office charges the patient the co-pay before he goes back to the exam room. If they wait until the end of the appointment, the patient might cop an excuse, sneak out, or refuse to pay.

Keep in mind, the co-pay or service fee is due whether you feel better or not, or whether or not your issue was resolved. Service related businesses are constantly evolving because nobody wants to pay for services, unless it’s something fun.

View more comments
Resolved
Review
#1354968 Review #1354968 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
American Home Shield Customer Care
Pros
  • Replacement policy
  • Easy to get service
Reason of review
Problems with payment
Loss
$75
Preferred solution
Full refund
2.3
Details

Update by user May 02, 2018

I tried to change my rating to 4 stars but the system wouldn't let me.

Update by user May 02, 2018

American Home Shield reached out to me to resolve this issue. They reimbursed the deductible for my refrigerator that was improperly diagnosed and sent a second inspector to verify the problem with...

View full review
Resolved
Review
#1224216 Review #1224216 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
American Home Shield Homeowners Policy Claim
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$2900
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
1.0
Details

Update by user Dec 30, 2017

We got our own contractor to do the work. The difference in cost over what AHS were prepared to pay was marginal and immaterial.

Update by user Dec 30, 2017

The dishwasher was finally repaired on December 14th. It took AHS and its contractor a month to get the right part for an American modern...

View full review
Resolved
Review
#1139896 Review #1139896 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
American Home Shield Water Heater Warranty
Reason of review
Bad quality
Loss
$1000
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered
5.0
Details

Update by user Sep 02, 2017

AHS took care of everything!

Update by user Sep 02, 2017

ALL issues resolved. AHS could not have been more helpful! I got bad information from the techs.

Original review posted by user Sep 02, 2017

I called in for my stove, washer, and A/C -- NOTHING has been repaired!!!!!! I've been told that I have to log the problems and maybe then they...
View full review
1 comment
Anonymous
#1366671

I had American Home Shield warranty service for over a year. I had problems with my furnace which is with oil not gas.

So I called AHS and the guys had to come out a few times because the furnace would not run on a consistent basis without shutting down. So obviously there was no heat in the house when it was needed. So I called AHS and they sent out 2 or 3 different companies. It was only the 3rd and last guy who told me what the real problem was and that was I needed a new motor.

So I paid at that time $125.00 for each company that came out and back then you could pay cash when they arrived. Now you have to pay in advance before one comes out to your home with a credit card and the cost has now gone up from $125 to $135. So just recently I had to call again because now my hot water heater was giving me problems. So I called AHS and this time like I said $135.00 in advance with a credit card.

I called them early on a Monday morning in the am but was able to use the automated system. I heard from AHS with a live person may 24 to 48 hours later but they didn't send anyone over until Thursday, 3 days later. I kept calling and calling and was on hold an average of 45 minutes to an hour each time I called. And I mean I called numerous times all throughout the day each day I did call.

Now being I used them in the past you would think they would have my records on file and know that I have an oil furnace and I reiterated this when I first used them for service. But what did they do this time, they sent me out a guy from a company who doesn't service furnaces or hot water heaters that run with oil. Hello!!!! I never told AHS I converted over to gas so why would they send someone over who doesn't service furnaces or hot water heater that runs by oil.

This should have been in their records. But no the guy came by and only stayed 3 minutes to say I don't service this and left. So I called AHS to complain and they had the nerve to tell me that they would send out another guy but I will have to pay another $135.00. My argument was why?

Because you sent out a company that doesn't service oil burners or hot water heaters run by oil. It's not my fault they sent out the wrong guy but yet they want me to pay again for their mistake and then also pay whatever the cost is for repairs. I did the math and realized I am paying these people to rip me off. At $69.51 a month I am giving them $834.12 a year plus $135.00 each time one comes out and then whatever the cost of the repair.

The *** with that. I cancelled my membership and just decided to hire a good handyman which I did call after this madness and he fixed my hot water heater in 20 minutes at a great cost actually the same cost for AHS just to have someone come out which is $135.00.

The money I give AHS every month, I can just save that just in case I need to buy a new appliance or something. All of can say is BUYER BE AWARE of AHS.

Resolved
Review
#1095634 Review #1095634 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Air Conditioner Repair
Reason of review
Bad quality
Loss
$1000

Contact American Home Shield Customer Service

Website:
Mailing Address:
860 Ridge Lake Blvd.
Memphis, Tennessee 38135
United States
Phone:
(800) 776-4663
All American Home Shield Contacts

American Home Shield Products and Services Reviews

Compare American Home Shield to

American Home Shield
American Home Shield
291 reviews
1.4
VS
Choice Home Warranty
Choice Home Warranty
291 reviews
Compare American Home Shield vs Choice Home Warranty

Latest Question

American Home Shield Questions
1.0
Details
I called to cancel and was told a "retention specialist" would be in touch with me. He called next day and said if I cancel I will not be refunded any of the monthly payment that they just received a few days earlier and I would be charged an early termination fee. I...
View full review
2 comments
Machele
#1304731

Cancel out and ensure they cannot take any money from your bank account even tho they said the auto pay was cancelled. Talk to your bank about how to do this---By the way, now you know why having auto pay for anything is so dangerous.

If AHS tells you you need to pay a cancellation fee, etc., then just laugh and say "send me a bill, but I won't be paying it." They may send you a bill, etc., but just ignore them. The most important thing here is to cancel with them and ensure they cannot take any money from your bank account.

View more comments
Resolved
Review
#1022806 Review #1022806 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
American Home Shield Customer Care
Cons
  • Poor customer service and no communication
  • Strong arm tactics
  • Poor customer service
Reason of review
Return, Exchange or Cancellation Policy
Preferred solution
Cancel my contract, waive any late charges and monthly payment for cancelled month.