American Home Shield Reviews

Show reviews that mention
service ahs customer customer service home repair phone problem water heater contract
Filter review

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
Explore video interviews
Update by user May 13, 2021

Company fixed the issue and I have been provided with settlement agreement. Final Update, After months of going back and forth and having to submit the invoice multiple times to multiple departments. The Invoice for the work was paid..

Update by user Sep 22, 2020

09/22/2020 Last week AHS sent me an email stating they had a solution. I called the number provided on the email and when I did I was told they would fix the water heater but I would have to pay an additional $479 to bring the space up to code. I had a plumber come out...

View full review
View full review
6 comments
#2058848

I have a similar situation 3 months still not pay

View more comments
Resolved Featured
ID
#2122710 Review #2122710 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
American Home Shield Water Heater Warranty
Cons
  • Troubleshooting
  • Poor vendors response and skill set
  • Very poor customer service
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered
Most helpful review
I have discovered how aggrieved homeowners can turn the tables on home warranty companies and beat them at their own game. Please share this with everyone you know. I’m an attorney and after having a problem with my home warranty company, American Home Shield, I...
View full review
View full review
105 comments
#2066853

I have contacted an arbitration law firm, they are handling my claim against American home shield now, I have to get a new ac installed as well as roof repair due to the leaky rusted ac unit, I had to take out a loan for the whole unit. The process just started, I am hopeful.

View more comments
ID
#135027 Review #135027 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Reston, Virginia
Product
American Home Shield Warranty

Heating Tune Issue

Very bad experience with Heating Tune up service with AHS. My heater was working fine without any issue. I opted for Heating tune as a regular checkup. With this request, technician visited and checked something. After that heater stopped working. No update either from technician or AHS for 1 week. I have called AHS and reported about it. They apologized and promised to address the concern. Again there was no update for another 1 week. And i called AHS to check SR status and found that SR is closed without any reason. We are living without heater for no reason. Still waiting for the fix.

User's recommendation: I do not recommend this company.

View full review
ID
#3108434 Review #3108434 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Tracy, California
New Reviewer
My contract # 645**** my Central cooling and heating system is down from September 2021, after 3 months (11/23/21) tech brought replacement inside unit but: A) it did not have auxiliary heat kit, he may be forgot or have no Idea unit needs auxiliary heat kit or he...
View full review
View full review
ID
#3103953 Review #3103953 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
San Antonio, Texas
Loss
$6000
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

My heat is out

I called put on hold and then cut survey. No one answered the phone just a survey. End of call. The company responses but same problem last year. Switch not replaced

User's recommendation: No one answered just survey.

View full review
ID
#3098993 Review #3098993 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Las Vegas, Nevada
New Reviewer

AHS has poor service

AHS has very poor service. MY contrac# 645**** My central Air and heating went down over three months ago, American home shield finally send technician with inside unit to replace with the old one, but brand-new unit did not have Auxiliary heat kit. As a result, we are not able to turn the heater on, my home is cold, and we have no hitter. And both of us got cold and got sick and have no idea when and how I can get the missing hit kit back to my inside unit, so I can turn the heater on. Every time I call, the staff from Philippine give me nonsense answer. AHS did not care and did not provide me any help at all, also so far for only this missing part I got charged $2052.00-

User's recommendation: stay away from AHS.

View full review
ID
#3097097 Review #3097097 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
San Antonio, Texas
New Reviewer

Very very poor service by American home shiled, home warranty

My contract # 645**** My central Air and heating went down over three months ago, American home shield finally send today 11/23/21 technician with inside unit to replace with the old one, but brand new unit did not have Auxiliary heat kit. as a result we are not able to turn the heater on, my home is cold and we have no hitter.

User's recommendation: AHS has very poor service, I will not recomand AHS to no body.

View full review
ID
#3092535 Review #3092535 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
San Antonio, Texas
Loss
$4000
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

Service update

It has been over a week and still havent had the service request assigned. I need prior authorization to source a local contractor and get reimbursed.
View full review
ID
#3087909 Review #3087909 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Accra, Greater Accra Region
Loss
$1111
Preferred solution
See above
New Reviewer

Can’t get a hold of anyone

Calling and cant get a hold of a live person. Keeps telling me to add my phone number than not recognizing it. Just had dryer fixed in October.
View full review
ID
#3086009 Review #3086009 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
New Reviewer

Unqualified personnel cost my a lot of money

American Home Shield - Unqualified personnel cost my a lot of money
American Home Shield - Unqualified personnel cost my a lot of money
I had problems with my gas room heater, I had told Nw Sundance Services that other companies had turned me down because of the age and brand of the heater. They assured me that their man was qualified but when he came out he had never seen this type of unit, he sent a service order to my insurance company stating that my fireplace was not working. Now my homeowners warranty will not cover a fireplace repair, but my issue is a room heater not a fireplace. So now I asked the company to resend a new work order because their technician screwed up, but they told me its closed because it was already sent. They will not correct there mistake and its costing me a lot of money.

User's recommendation: Use a different company.

View full review
ID
#3078615 Review #3078615 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
American Home Shield Customer Care
Cons
  • Terrible service
Preferred solution
Correction of the service order, it is a room heater and not a fireplace.

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Satisfaction

Thanks for the help. Laura Ojeda from AHS in Arizona has made contact with me. She has taken the time to listen and understand my frustrations and has worked diligently to make strides to make some concessions.
View full review
ID
#3077703 Review #3077703 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
East Brunswick, New Jersey
New Reviewer

Because it sucks

Filed 3 warranty claims. AHS hasn't fixed a single one. They will 100% deny your claim, regardless of whether it is valid.

User's recommendation: Hahahahahahahahaha never, I would rather burn cash.

View full review
ID
#3072317 Review #3072317 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Columbia, South Carolina
Loss
$300
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
I called last week on 11/9/21 to urgently request a plumber's service since we had water/sewer backup. We had no use of water or toilets. On Wednesday 11/10/21 in AM I called the plumbing company it was set with under Service Request #7899****. They indicated they were...
View full review
View full review
ID
#3071883 Review #3071883 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Nightmare when they choose to ignore the issue
  • Whole process to resolve the problem
Loss
$125
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer
The first house I purchased I had ahs for four years and never had a single problem. The second house I bought the title company put me with a different company and I went out of my way to have them cancel that so I could go with ahs because of how wonderful they were...
View full review
View full review
ID
#3069343 Review #3069343 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • There are no pros
Cons
  • Value of service
  • Just about every interaction i had with them
  • Lack of communication on repair orders
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered
New Reviewer
Dear American Home Shield/Front Door, I am one of your contact holders for American Home Shield and I am requesting to speak to the escalations department. I have been passed around and hung up on several times trying to get my issue resolved. I put in a request in...
View full review
View full review
ID
#3068962 Review #3068962 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Aurora, Colorado
Pros
  • Absolutely no pros
Cons
  • Service recovery
  • Poor customer phone service
  • Hire one star contractors
Loss
$500
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

Microwave went outF on the refrigrator is not making ice or keep your refrigerator cool

My microwave will not come on in my refrigerator is not making ice continuously and keeping milk fresh spoiling food
View full review
ID
#3063306 Review #3063306 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Chicago, Illinois
Pros
  • Warranty plan
Cons
  • Ahs will do what it takes to make a repair vs new item
Loss
$3

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

No contract sent

I joined American Home Shield back in July,with first payment to come out in August. I requested a copy of my contract from them, and they said they would send it out. Well it's November now, and I have called numerous times and still no contact. If they can't do something simple like send me a copy of my contract,how can I trust them to get something fixed when I need it???

User's recommendation: Haven't had a chance to use them yet. There people who answer the phones,which I believe is based in the Philippines are unreliable.

View full review
ID
#3061166 Review #3061166 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Houston, Texas
Preferred solution
I would like a copy of my contract spelling out what is covered and how much I am covered for. I added my septic system,and well pump. I have heard too many bad things about them I hope they are wrong

Brands Related to American Home Shield

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article