Stephanie W Efm

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Stay away. Scammer with poor quality contractors.

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
You will pay more with their warranty to the contractor than it would be to pay on your own. They make the contract up as you go to suit their best interest in saying items aren't covered.
View full review
Loss:
$502

Preferred solution: Price reduction

User's recommendation: Stay away from this company

Lawrence S Cpl

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Failure to honor contract

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Updated by user Oct 12, 2023

To date I’ve filed complaints with the BBB, the Dept of insurance, the AG office, and finally filed for arbitration to try to resolve the matter

Updated by user Oct 06, 2023

Never again.

Original review Oct 05, 2023
I had an account with them for over 16 years. Like most of the people here, I've had issues with my two air conditioning units for probably the last ten years where they would leak, I'd pay to have an AHS contractor come out. Each time they would add freon and charge me. Last year, they added 4 lbs of freon to each of my units charging me around $800. This year, my upstairs unit broke. the AHS contractor determined the compressor went out. AHS had me call them after they received the estimate from the contractor. They claimed I needed to pay $2,895 out of pocket for "modifications" that weren't covered... basically the labor to replace the compressor. The cash in lieu offer was $525.00. The modifications they claim necessary were: refrigerant line modification - $650.00 electrical line modification - $540.00 condenser pad modification - $440.00 freon - 11 lbs at $115 per pound - $1,265.00 I went through calling their third world call center numerous times, requesting to speak to supervisors, being sent to their "escalation" department... all to get me more and more frustrated and never ever getting an actual supervisor or anyone in the US. Because of my complaints with the DOI and BBB, they had a rep contact me. However, throughout the process she repeatedly lowballed me when I was looking for fair treatment. They advised me that the recommendation was for condenser replacement. I sent them an estimate for condenser replacement and requested cash in lieu of $5,855, the part they are responsible for. They again lowballed me offering a much smaller amount. In the meantime, we've purchased several tower fans in order to deal with triple digit heat and make it more tolerable for my little kids to sleep. Also, the second unit isn't cooling properly again.
View full review
Loss:
$21000
Cons:
  • Shady contracted companies
  • Hides all contact numbers
  • Does not honor contract

Preferred solution: Cash in lieu for the cost of the replacement of the condenser ($5,855.00), which is much less than the amount of the replacement of both systems.

User's recommendation: Avoid this company

Rod E Ivt

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

HORRIBLE COMPANY, DO NOT PURCHASE!

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
American Home Shield - HORRIBLE COMPANY, DO NOT PURCHASE!
Absolutely ridiculous. I had a leaking water heater, and it's been five days and it is still not replaced. They have the worst customer service. Each time I called I was told something different, they do not have Supervisors available. No Email address. Their own Plumber indicated they are billing me for costs that should be covered under my plan. They will do anything and everything possible to avoid making the claim process simple. :-(
View full review
Loss:
$840
Cons:
  • Everything possible

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: AVOID AT ALL COSTS!

1 comment
Guest

We had the same thing happen. It took about a month to get our hot water heater fixed.

Every time you get on the phone with them, they make things difficult. One representative tells you one thing, then the next rep. tells you something very different. I made several calls to them and they want you to rate their customer service each time, like they care.

They don't! They did not honor the contract and we were out lots of money. We had to do a "cash out" option, as their contractors were so shady.

Total bill was $2,400 and AHS sent us back $400. What a joke!

Jackie B Rdj

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

No resolution on plumbing repairs that were submitted April 11, 2023

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
American Home Shield - No resolution on plumbing repairs that were submitted April 11, 2023
American Home Shield - No resolution on plumbing repairs that were submitted April 11,... - Image 2
American Home Shield - No resolution on plumbing repairs that were submitted April 11,... - Image 3
April 11, 2023 I submitted a claim to AHS for plumbing repairs. I was assigned to Island Mann Plumbing in League City, Tx. Island Mann plumbing will not contact me, answer my calls or return them. I call AHS, they call Island Mann and have asked for a diagnosis, they say that it was sent, but AHS says it hadnt been received and I must wait, but Im a priority! Today is Aug. 23, 23 and Ive had no resolution. I have been without two faucets and a toilet for over 4 months now and Im beyond upset! Calls go to the Philippines or the Caribbean with the reps telling me Ill be taken care of but nothing has been done to resolve the issues! Ive been transferred to Contractual Resolution but NO RESOLUTION or concerns, just wait for the contractor. I feel that Island Mann did not want to help with the repairs, maybe too much trouble.?, but why dont they let AHS know that? I feel wronged in so many ways but I havent known where to turn. There is no contact info that I can find for headquarters but found this social email today. Maybe someone can help me!
View full review
Loss:
$3
Cons:
  • Terrible communication
  • Terrible cust service and response
  • Terrible contractors and terrible service

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: I’ve never had an issue with AHS like this. I’ve been a customer at this address for 10 years and this is caused me much frustration and anxiety because not only the contractor has totally ignored the repair and diagnosis request but AHS has totally ignored my issues.

Resolved
Jennifer c Dyn

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Resolved: Service issues

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
American Home Shield - Service issues
You can only reach offshore representatives who are terribly hard to understand. Pertaining to my A/C issue I'm being told the shady company they dispatched is the only one available. They can't provide current verification of insurance or State license. I expressed my concerns and advised the of how uncomfortable felt with this company, Texas Heat & Air. There are plenty of reputable companies in my area. The 1st time they came to my house they indicated my unit was low on Freon, we paid them directly to the company for the freon they advised we needed. Unfortunately, this didn't solve the problem, so we called them back. they came again, different techs. This time they indicated My compressor was bad; had shorted out. We didnt agree with their finding but trying to convey our concerns to the offshore representatives is very frustrating. Apparently, my family's safety is not high on AHS list of priorities. The only option they are offering is a "payout: for us to hire our own company; which we did; their finding was nothing like the AHS's vendor
View full review
Loss:
$125
Cons:
  • Offshore customer service

User's recommendation: Check What vendors

Resolved
Jason M Dgz

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Resolved: Waiting for a cash out for over 4 months

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Updated by user Sep 22, 2023

Company fixed the issue and I have been provided with apology.

Original review Sep 15, 2023
Hi, I had a plumbing leak in my basement, and requested service for it. AHS sent out a local plumber, who gave me a bid of just under $6,000 for the repair. I was told that if I did not choose to have the repair done (which involved over $5,000 in out of pocket/non-covered costs) that I could just request a cash out for the amount covered. I made this request, and have since been told, each week or so when I call in the check on the status, that AHS is awaiting to hear back from the contractor to confirm what the costs were. Which doesn't make much sense, since the contractor already submitted their estimate for the repair. Each time I call into customer service, I'm told the same thing by different people. They are waiting for the contractor. I've "escalated" it a few times and spoken with the "escalation department". But I'm told the same thing. I'm also told they will call me back within 24-48hrs, and they never do. Not once.
View full review
Pros:
  • Good for some repairs
Cons:
  • Awful customer service

Preferred solution: I've been waiting four months for a cash out. Which I assume it about $1,000

User's recommendation: be wary, very wary of dealing with them.

Anonymous
map-marker Columbia, South Carolina

Failure to provide services

American Home Shield - Failure to provide services
I started having problems with my air conditioner unit in May 2023. I called several times. Home shield sent Hoover overto check out the units. Hoover service said that I needed Freon. I paid $270.00 on 05/34/2023. It worked for a while and I made several calls telling them that the unit was not working. Finally , you dispatched Hoover Service out who said that I need a new unit. On 08/09/2023 I paid $580.00 which was my share for new unit. This unit worked for about 3 hours and to blow hot air. They came out and said that I needed a compressor. They had to order a part. My unit still is not fixed. When I asked them, when were they going to fix the unit. They said I had. to pay $900.00 for a new unit. I have only had 3 hours of air from the unit that O paid $540.00. My air has been out since May 2023. E. Williams. Hoover also claim that they fixed the commode that rocks with leaking. They put a chip of wood under it and said that it was fixed. See video.
View full review

User's recommendation: Do follow up on your contractor, and do not let take advantage of your customer.

Pras K

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker San Antonio, Texas

Broken Airconditioner for more than 1 year

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
We have American Home Shield. Created a ticket back in 2022 April to fix our Air Conditioner. They sent some lousy technicians in San Antonio, TX. So far 5 of them have come in and 'tried' to fix the AC. Same issue persists. Leaks Freon big time. The entire Freon is leaked out within a week (Almost 9 pounds). The second problem is water leak (of course if there's no freon there will be condensation and leak). We had third party companies who have almost 5* rating and they recommended a replacement immediately. Latest : The problem of Freon (Refrigerant) leaking still persists and so does the condensation issue. The AC is OUT. We live in San Antonio and its about 95 F outside and about 85 F inside currently. We have had close to 110 outside this summer and our home was about 100 inside. The customer service agents (all of them) seem to be very very polite(un naturally polite), but will not listen to what you say, they will say and do whats they seem to be programmed for. They do escalate up their chain and when I tell them the whole story, they just disconnect (can you believe the rudeness). This is a SHAM COMPANY. EVERYONE OF THE GOOD RATED AC COMPANIES RECOMMENDED A REPLACEMENT. THIS WARRANTY COMPANY DOESNT SEEM TO BELIEVE IN IT (Does anyone know a good attorney in San Antonio so that we can go after this sham company and teach them a lesson?
View full review

User's recommendation: DO NOT BUY THIS COMPANY'S PLANS. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY.

Jo P Ckv

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

No a/c repair for a month in Texas Heat

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
My air conditioner stopped working and we placed a service request on August 2, 2023 for it to be repaired. We had a service repairman come out and advise us what we needed fixed and that he would submit to American home shield for approval. When we called to follow up, American Home Shield stated that they needed a second opinion. So the second technician came out and agreed with what the first one said about the air conditioner. Called American Home Shield again and they said they needed a report and asked us to give them 48 hours. Called back and they denied part of the claim due to parts missing. I then called American Home Shield and stated that only people who have touched this AC since we bought the home is their contractors. They stated they only had a few records and when I advised I had a copy of the invoices, she advised she saw the other orders and just needed to "scroll down". Finally, we spoke to the escalation department and they decided to have a third tech come out. He arrived and looked at my unit and I provided him all the past invoices as well. He then stated that the reason we are having an issue, is back in 2022 the contractor that American Home Shield sent out replaced our fan and then cut the wires. They even bypassed the safety precaution on the unit itself. I then called American Home Shield again and stated what happened that's when they advised me in the escalation department that this was approved and repairs would be completed on Friday, August 25, 2023 and the first tech to look at our unit would repair it. We waited another week and then the tech called my husband to advise that:"he did not know he was repairing our unit" We called American Home Shield again and they said they would get someone out here today for an emergency work order and no one showed up. This has now been a month with no a.c in my home during one of the hottest months in Texas. We had to purchase units and spent over $800. I explained that to American Home Shield as well and was only offered $250.00 since that is their maximum. We pay our warranty company for a reason and feel like they have breached their own contract. Our family lives here and it's been such a hard and long process. We just want our air conditioner fixed and they seem to keep giving us the run around.
View full review
Loss:
$1000
Cons:
  • Poor customer service
  • Unreliable and not helpful

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Do NOT use this company

Forrest H Qmz

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Complaint Re: AHS Customer Service

We have been AHS customers for about 25 years. Last night the hose bib (water tap)coming out of the wall of our house in our backyard for our garden hose broke and water was leaking out of it. We called AHS and spoke to a representative. We explained the situation to her (several times) and asked her to make sure that the problem was covered by our policy BEFORE dispatching a technician and BEFORE charging us $100. We went over this with her multiple times and she assured us that we were DEFINITELY covered, so we had her open up a work order. As soon as the technician arrived this morning he advised us that the work wasn't going to be covered by our plan, as AHS doesn't cover anything "outside" our house. My wife called you guys and told her what was going on and was told basically, "Sorry our employee gave you bad information last night, but since the technician came out, we're keeping your $100." So, even though we're currently paying $72 per month (and have been good customers for about 25 years) we had to pay $200 out of pocket, in addition to the $100 you so quickly took from my bank account. She again contacted Customer Service to tell them that we are considering canceling our policy and was asked by someone there if we would keep our policy IF you refunded our $100. After looking at our contract, which is confusing at best, it seems like there ARE some things on the outside of my house that are covered, i.e., main circuit panel, circuit breakers, doorbell, air conditioner, etc. My wife is going to call back and get some further clarification. The service we got from the plumbing company (Blue Diamond Plumbing LLC) was excellent (the technician even spoke with AHS in an attempt to clarify the situation). He was professional and personable. Our issue is with AHS, your call center representatives, and customer service personnel. So far, the service we have received has been disgusting and atrocious.
View full review

Preferred solution: Full refund

Michelle B Oia

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Newark, California

Really Bad Customer Service & they billed me for a service which was never done

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
My scheduled service repair is still on 08/17/2023. When I checked the status of my request it says the service was done on August 1,2023 which never happened, worst of all my credit card company was billed which I just found out today. I cant talk to any real person from this company about these issues Im having and my washing machine still hasnt been fixed. I even chatted with them on the day I found out the appointment date that was given to me, I told/ typed to their CS agents requesting that I needed it fixed as soon as possible because my husband will be having his 1st operation and I really needed clean bedding all the time. It is really a big problem & inconvenience on my part, since I dont drive and I had to take care of my husband. I had to ask our neighbor if i could use their washer, to wash my husbands soiled clothes & linens. Its embarrassing enough to ask once, but almost daily is too much. The customer service department just kept on passing my calls to another department & I had to repeat myself over & over, which was such an inconvenience for me & a waste of my time being on the phone and waiting for someone to at least hear my problem on why I was begging to have my washer fixed before August 17 which is the date they appointed me. Now its almost the 17th and when I checked the status of my appointed date for service, it cant be found & they claimed a technician came to fix it last Aug.1 which never happened at all. When I checked my bank account a charge for $125 was paid to them on August 2, aside from my regular monthly payment. This is really bad., My husband recently had his 2nd surgery and I was looking forward to have my washer fixed this 17th already. Now, this issue happens. I really need my washer fixed this 08/17, the date appointed to me since I requested for it to be fixed. Also, I am not going to pay the $125 service fee since it was already paid by my bank/cc. on August 2, which a service never happened. My husband is going to have his 3rd surgery soon and I really need a working washer as soon as possible. I had to buy a lot more linens & underwear for him since it needed to be changed 3 to 4x a day. I hope this issue will be resolved before August 17,2023.
View full review
Loss:
$125
Cons:
  • Took the service fee 2 weeks ago and still no service
  • Customer service is the worst

Preferred solution: Have my washer fixed on or before Aug.17, 2023. Refund service fee and no service fee at all. More real people in CS, a better way in processing problems with urgency

MICHAELE K

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

TOTAL SCAM BUSINNESS PRACTICE TO DENY CLAIMS

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
American Home Shield sent a All VAlley Appliances to my home to inspect my ovens. They were given a list of 5 items and inspected 2. They determined that my automatic stove ignighters would not light due to the knobs on the oven being glued to the stems. What does attached knobs have to do with ignighters. AHS denied my claim. I requested a second opinion and they sen tout MS Appliances. They determined that the ignighteres weren't working due to water damage. The claim was again denied. I requested a third opinion due to the first two conflicting. AHS said they would charge me for a third opinion, even though the first company neglected to address the 5 listed issues, and that both companies did not agree on the source of the problem. AHS representative (Allen) said he would see if he could get the fee waived but never callled back. I did some reserach and found that AHS in my area has 1047 Yelp reviews with a ONE STAR RATING. I found that the two companies that came out also have ONE STAR ratings on yelp and both have F's with the Better Business Bureau. Maybe with those reviews I shouldn't expect much.
View full review
Loss:
$75
Cons:
  • Denies all claims and uses poorly rated subcontractors

Preferred solution: Apology

User's recommendation: Check out the reviews of the companies being sent out by your insurance carrier and request another if the reviews are bad.

1 comment
Guest

I didn’t get my package. Where is it?

Glenn C Cli

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Resolution

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I asked for service on Aug 27, 2023 regarding my A/C unit not blowing cool air. Scheduled for Sep 1, 2023 for technician to come check what's going on. Technician diagnosed problem with a leak and had to come back to replace a part. In order to schedule a date for them to come back to do repair, I had to dig $1,125 first out of pocket to pay the difference. Mind you, I have Platinum Shield. I paid and they set an appointment date of Sep 14, 2023 which is today! Two workers came in ready to to the work and come to find out they had the wrong information and the wrong part!!! Now I have to wait again for another appointment date. It's more than 83 degrees inside the house for almost 2 weeks. My family have been baked for almost two weeks in this hot and humid condition. Fans are struggling to keep up.
View full review

Preferred solution: Price reduction

1 comment
Wilde S

I had this company when I bought a house in the Southern California desert in 2001. Before we even moved into the house the gas company had come out to do an inspection at my request, for all the gas appliances.

The house heater was red tagged immediately, I called them in May and it took filing a small claims lawsuit against them 10 months later to get them to fix the problem. I can only wish you luck but know you are not alone with dealing with this type of situation with this company.

Insurance Expert Talks

Insurance Claims Tips: What Red Flags to Watch Out

Apr 23, 2021

How to file an insurance claim? Why do you need a public adjuster? Vince Perri, CEO of Commercial Claims Advocate, shares his best tips about insurance claims. Find out how to deal with complex residential insurance claims and commercial losses.

Read full article
Vince Perri
Vince Perri

Vince Perri is a Expert Claims Adjuster and CEO of Commercial Claims Advocate. He has over 14 years of experience in handling large commercial losses and complex residential insurance claims.

Keith R Ttj

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Total incompetency of both American Home Shield and their "NON QUALIFIED" service technicians

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
After 28 years of being an AHS customer, their level of service from both AHS and Contracted companies had declined to a level of total incompetency. My built-in refrigerator and freezer have had technical issues in 2023 and I have been without a refrigerator since June 20, 2023. As of this writing, neither AHS and or their appliance repair contractor know what to do or how to fix my unit. In fact I was informed that the parts were NO LONGER available to repair my freezer and refrigerator. However in under 15 minutes, I found all parts on the Thermador, Bosch and other appliance parts providers website and then I informed AHS and their appliance repair contractor where to get the said parts.
View full review
Loss:
$750
Cons:
  • We cannot speak to anyone in the usa any longer
  • Incompetancy is their standard operating procedures

Preferred solution: Appliances repaired by qualified technicans

User's recommendation: Contract with another Home warranty company other than AHS

Blane G Ijp

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Cash payout option

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I filed a claim for my hot water heater. Contractor came out and determined it needed replaced. There would be an additional charge of 900 plus for modifications not covered. I elected the cash payout instead. I was told the check would be sent in 10 to 14 business days and if i did not submit a receipt the new water heater would be excluded from the home warranty. Now i am being told I have to produce a receipt them you guys will cut a check. I will do the repair myself and if it is not covered then so be it. The problem is I do not have the funds to purchase the water heater and was relying on your payment to purchase it. Even when i submit the receipt for the water heater you guys are still going to exclude it from the warranty because i diid the replacement myself. Is there no way to send payment prior to me purchasing the tank and repair parts?
View full review

Preferred solution: I would like payout on my water heater so I can self install and not pay a plumber an additional 900 for modifications. You may then exclude the water heater from my policy.

Alvin J Mkk

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Horrible Customer service !!

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Updated by user Oct 27, 2023

Poor Customer ServiceTakes 3 service calls to properly address issues because workers have no clue how to address issues HIRE EXPERIENCED STAFF!

Original review Sep 27, 2023
Failing to diagnose issues that led to more out of pocket expenses. Been with you guys for over 20 years at times with two houses under contract. The price goes up every year but customer service drops. Promise that are never kept. Ive been calling about my last service request get wrong information an all they can do is say Im sorry. Sorry doesnt make this 100 plus degree weather cool the house off.
View full review

Preferred solution: Better service and quicker response time!!!

User's recommendation: Find another Warrnty company

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content
  • PissedConsumer is on the Inc. 5000 list

For more information read Blog article