Debbie D Nwq

Terrible experience with American Home Shield

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I would like to share my experience with AHS and caution others to stay clear. I placed a service request for my refrigerator. It took the repair company 16 service calls spread over 5 month to finally fix the refrigerator. After 6 visits, I called AHS asking to have a different repair company. AHS refused. After 12 visits, I called AHS asking for a different repair company. AHS refused. After 16 visits, I called AHS to cancel my contract and was told if I cancel before my EXPIRATION date, I would be charged an admin fee. I signed up for AHS services 14 months ago because their website states membership can cancel at any time. I NEVER signed any agreement with an expiration date, yet they assigned a TWO year term to my membership. I warn anyone considering working with AHS to use extreme caution. I will never, never work with them again.
View full review
Loss:
$60
Cons:
  • Charge a fee to cancel
  • Subcontract with poor repair service companies

Preferred solution: I do not want to pay an admin fee to cancel.

User's recommendation: Do not do business with this company. When I called to cancel they were prepared to offer many gifts to apologize. I don't want gifts, I just wanted my refrigerator repaired.

michael d Dll

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Do not pay claims

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Updated by user Sep 16, 2023

Not on your life!!! Would like to make sure everyone knows how the treat and cheat senior citizens.

Original review Sep 15, 2023
Anytime there is a claim that either replacement is needed or to fix is over $500 or more they do not repair or replace . They call it a pre-existing condition. I had a leaking coil on my A/C they told me their contractor said it was pre-existing which they didn't as I spoke with them. It seems that is what there authorization dept does when it does not want to pay a claim. They blame it on the contractor. If you try to get connected to the dept they will not connect as they only speak to contractors. You can't get a manager to call, and when you get a so called supervisor it someone from another country who half the time you cannot understand. And if your a senior citizen they really take advantage.GO
View full review
Loss:
$2300
Pros:
  • Non right now

Preferred solution: Repair that's due

User's recommendation: GO ELSE WHERE!!!

Anonymous
map-marker Macon, Georgia

Poor Customer Service and Theft

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Today, Oct 4, I called to cancel my contract which I had just made the monthly payment on September 26 and the next was not due until October 26. I was not calling to cancel effective today and expected to have coverage through Oct 26 but that is not the case. To add insult to injury after effectively stealing my money and/or the 22 additional days of service, AHS tells me that I have to pay an admin fee to cancel equivalent to the 97.99 per month I have been paying. AHS believes that just because they say it's so, then it must be true. Not hardly AHS needs to prorate and refund or waive this so-called admin fee for cancellation. Threats to send this bill to collections fall on deaf hears. AHS has stolen my money and then wants me to give them more... Insane. As previous reviews have stated, AHS customer service is trained to give opposing customers the runaround and/or try to scare them off. Run, don't walk away from AHS. On the rare occasion that you may have a high dollar repair, if you save the monthly payment you will surely have enough to cover any future costs. For example, a small plumbing issue will cost $75-150. If you pay the monthly $100 plus the $75 service fee, you have paid more every time. SMH
View full review

User's recommendation: Save your monthly fee for your own repairs... No warranty required

Anonymous
map-marker North Haven, Connecticut

Vendor Change request Water Heater

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Vendor Change Dispatch to reference # 24680**** Vendor (All Clear Services LLC) American Home Shield contract # 63116**** I hope this letter finds you well. I am writing to file a formal complaint regarding refusal to allow me to select an alternative vendor for the repair of damages covered by their insurance program. I believe that their actions are unjust and infringe upon my rights as a consumer.. On 07/10/2023, I experienced my water heater leaking large puddles of water, for which I promptly contacted American Home Shield to initiate a service, they arranged for a vendor to contact me and he had me consent for a virtual review of the damage, which lasted onl 10 minutes. However, I strongly believe that during this brief interaction, I was taken advantage of, and the recommended vendor's services do not align with my best interests. Despite my concerns and dissatisfaction with the vendor selection, American Home Shield has refused my request to choose an alternative vendor, citing contractual obligations or other reasons. This denial of my right to select a vendor of my choice is both unfair and unreasonable, as it compromises the quality and integrity of the repair process. I would like to bring the following points to your attention: 1. Limited Virtual Review: The virtual review conducted by All Clear Services LLC was significantly brief, lasting only 10 minutes. Considering the complexity and extent of the damage, it is implausible that a thorough assessment could have been made within such a short timeframe. 2. Feeling Taken Advantage Of: During the virtual review, I sensed that I was being taken advantage of. The recommended vendor's qualifications and reputation do not inspire confidence, and I strongly believe that their services may not effectively address the extent of the damage. 3. Right to Choose: As an insurance company, I have the right to select a vendor that I trust and have confidence in. By denying my request to choose an alternative vendor, American Home Shield is infringing upon my rights and limiting my ability to ensure the best possible outcome for the repair process and causing the time frame it has taken to continue further damage. I kindly request the following actions to address this matter: 1. Investigation: I urge the Attorney General's Office to conduct a thorough investigation into the practices of American Home Shield regarding their denial of vendor change requests. I believe this issue may be indicative of a broader pattern of unfair treatment towards policyholders. 2. Enforcement of Rights: I request that the Attorney General's Office intervene and ensure that American Home Shield respects the rights of policyholders to select a vendor of their choice, provided that the chosen vendor meets reasonable qualifications and standards. 3. Resolution: I seek a resolution that allows me to exercise my right to choose an alternative vendor for the repair of the damages covered by my insurance policy. This resolution should ensure that my best interests, as well as the quality and integrity of the repair process, are adequately protected. I trust that the American home shield will take this matter seriously and pursue a fair and just resolution. I appreciate your attention to this complaint and look forward to your prompt action. As my water heater is still broken and leaking large amounts of water on my concrete. It has been over 72 hours and not resolution. Accept lengthy phone calls with empty promises. I have contacted the Connecticut Attorney General with my formal complaint. Thank you for your time and consideration. Yours sincerely, Constance Harris
View full review

User's recommendation: I would be careful. They assign vendors that do not have good ratings, which is testimonial about the last service. I received all clear services changed the order to disposition wording that put the burden upon the customer of cost for something very simple. I received three other estimates from plumbers, and none of which they needed to get the additional work that all clear claims they needed to do that AHS would not cover. I believe it was a scam just to get more money out of the consumer. I should have the right to choose my own vendor if I felt that the opinion was not justified by the way, they reviewed my water heater through a video for 10 minutes.

Kait B Vxf

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Scam company using illegal business practices, kick backs from local scam contractors

I am pregnant, we have a disabled cat, and our AC has been out for 4 weeks. The contractor they are requiring us to use is a literal scam artist with hundreds of 1 star reviews. He requires the money up front and many of the reviews say he never shows up after collecting payment. The majority of the quote included coding that we dont need and isnt covered, and the contractor refuses to do the job without doing this coding. When we call in to request a cash offer or help with an alternative quote, we are sent to an off shore call center who is unable to help us and eventually ends the call. We were told we have to pay an additional $200 to be told what AHS will cover if we use our own contractor. This has been a horrible experience and weve contacted the attorney general. Their lack of communication and willingness is unacceptable in the Texas heat.
View full review
Cons:
  • Scam

Preferred solution: Our AC fixed

Keith G Pzy

Raise the rates without telling me, and then a canc

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Updated by user Nov 05, 2023

Home shield doesn't care they got their money and that's all that matters

Original review Oct 05, 2023
The racing race without telling me, and then when I found another company (Select Home Warranty) For half the price in the same benefits home shield charge me a cancellation fee. They changed the contract by raising the rates and then charge me when I wouldn't put up with it. My price went from $92 a month to $43 a month. I was happy with the service until those last two things happened.
View full review
Loss:
$64
Pros:
  • Good service in the promp t response to my needs
Cons:
  • Cancellation fee after they raise the rates
  • With no

Preferred solution: Cancellation fee

User's recommendation: Go to select home warranty

Matthew W Dco

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

POOR Service

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I need to have my issue resolved TODAY. DISPATCH # 26668****. Your Customer Service Team is Poor and the folks at JM Appliance are just as bad. If the Tech from JM Appliance would've diagnosed the issue correctly the 1st time he came out, I would not had to have a recall for them to come out. The 2nd time he came out he figured out that the transmission on the washer is broke. Wow, then his company takes way to long to get the parts on order. Who can wait weeks to wash their cloths.
View full review
Loss:
$1100
Cons:
  • Customer service is off shore
  • Also have no escalation

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Stay away from AHS

Tom T Wtb

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

AHS inability to service our request for service

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
We submitted a Service Request to AHS on 8/11/2023 for Electrical Service, AHS promptly provided dispatch to an Electrical Contractor. After no follow-up communication for two days, I called the contractor and was informed that they had insufficient staffing to be able to service us and that it would be at least two weeks to be able to schedule an appointment and for us to call AHS if we had an issue. I called AHS and asked to have another vendor assigned. As of Thursday 8/17/2023, a full seven days from the initial SR, we still had not been assigned a new Electrical Contractor yet AHS had already debited my account for $100.00 Note: I had called at least three times to discuss this issue with AHS CS and still no resolution as of 8/17/2023 even though they claimed they had called another vendor but could not provide a date for service. As a result of the inability of AHS to service my contract for service, I had to hire a local Electrician to troubleshoot and correct the electrical issues and therefore canceled the Service Request with AHC. We have been a long-time customer of AHS (several years) but in the last few months, it appears that the level of service we are used to from AHS has dropped considerably, and we will have to really give thought as to continuing our association.
View full review
Loss:
$410

Preferred solution: Reimbursement for the $410.00 paid to the contractor, If AHS was really interested in mending the relationship they will reimburse the amount to compensate for the time and energy spent locating another electrical provider and for the multiple calls.

User's recommendation: MIght wanto check out other vendors

Terri C Roq

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

URGENT!!!

I file a service request for our refrigerator on 8/11/23, appt set for 8/31/23. Tech found the issues, said a report was sent in and we would hear something in the next week, either it could be repaired or a replacement. We never heard anything. I checked the service request, it said repaired, complete and it was closed. I spent hours trying to speak to anyone on the phone, finally I spoke to someone who took my info and said she would call me back. Nope No return call. I put in several more service request hoping to get someone out here. Had appointment scheduled for today, several reminders were sent to me, I confirmed appt. Took day off work, sat here all day and the tech was a no show. What do I have to do to get my refrigerator fixed or replaced, I have been without a refrigerator for 7 weeks. You take my $$ every month but I cannot get any service. I a filing a complaint with the BBB and all the other online sites I can. The is unexceptable!! Worse customer ever.
View full review

Preferred solution: My refrigerator fixed or replaced!

User's recommendation: Beware

David M Nhh

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Rejected HVAC Claim

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
AHS HVAC Claim Rejected. I waited (8) days for the "approved" AHS Contractor from 2 hours away to come and inspect the unit. Note, the "approved" contractor is rated 1-Star per Yelp, 2-Stars by the BBB and 2-Stars by Google reviews. The HVAC failure is being written off due to a lightning strike. AHS will only repair failures related to "normal wear and tear". The HVAC unit is 20 years old and it failed and AHS has refused to pay the claim based on the input of a 1-Star contractor. AHS is not worth the premium, avoid at all costs. A 0-Star rating if it was possible.
View full review
Loss:
$1500
Cons:
  • Substandard contractors
  • Poor response
  • Poor customer service

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Do not pay for AHS Home Warranty Service, it is worthless

Rachel H Vhp

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Notice of Intent to File Suit

Updated by user Sep 17, 2023

I filed a consumer protection complaint and ASH offered a small monetary settlement which I declined. While they eventually fixed the AC, they refuse to take responsibility and blamed their contactors for the delay. I made an offer to they providing an annual contract...

Original review Aug 17, 2023
Re: Rachel M. Hess, 3009 Susanne Ct., Owings Mills, MD 21117 Below is a summary of what Im experiencing with your company, AHS. Unless this matter is resolved by tomorrow at 5 pm, I will proceed to get the HVAC fixed and file suit against AHS for the repair cost. Im going through misery with AHS. My AC went out late in June. I promptly contacted AHS and paid the service fee. Long story short... I was told after the 2 week pressure test that a AHS would replace the condenser unit. After many phone calls to AHS and their contractor I was assured that the unit was ordered and set up an appointment for installation later in July. The day before the appointment, the contractor called to tell me that a AHS never really ordered the unit that led me to spending approximately six hours on the phone going back-and-forth and physically becoming ill. I have developed respiratory issues since this past Summer has been excruciatingly hot and Ive done everything I can with fans to keep a cool. After this fiasco, I was told that they would re-order the unit and it would arrive the beginning of August. After more phone calls, I was told it did arrive and the contractor made an appointment to come install it today. However, this morning I got a phone call from the contractor telling me that the unit order was canceled and they didnt understand that. I then spent another 4 1/2 hours on the phone going back-and-forth between a AHS and the contractor pleading with them to please get this straightened out. I didnt care who was at fault on their end, but it was obviously someone on their side of the fence. They were each blaming the other and I told them I really didnt care. I just need to get this fixed for my health reasons. Bottom line is I was told that that they would escalate the issue to the parts department and it would take another two business days for me to hear something back. I informed them that I filed a complaint with the Maryland Attorney Generals office, which is something I have never ever done even though I have owned homes for 40 years. I used AHS over seven years and Ive had a few appliances go out and Ive never had much of an issue with them, and in fact have recommended them to many family and friends. That will not happen again.
View full review

Preferred solution: Deliver product or service ordered

laura k Ctn

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Every time we have a claim it is denied. Had them come out for electrical said because it was in the wall it was denied. So what am I paying for???

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Electrical they claim because it was in the wall and could not be specifically diagnosed it was denied. We paid 100 up front for tech then 400 to fix it. Nothing paid by AHS. So in other words no electrical is covered!
View full review
Loss:
$500
Cons:
  • Never pay

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Better to put money in the bank. You are paying for nothing but frustration and expense.

Valerie R Pag

Renewed contract but they say I don't have one

American Home Shield - Renewed contract but they say I don't have one
Contract was expiring on July 18 I called spent over 39 minutes updating and was told it would renew with new changes. I logged into website to my account to confirm and it shows my contact has successfully been updated. I then call today to submit a work order only to be told they do show I have any contract with them.
View full review

Preferred solution: My new contract number and bill. A credit on new contract if possible for this current bill im having to pay for a plumber out of pocket if they want my business any longer.

User's recommendation: Don’t use AHS

Matthew W Dco

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Round Rock, Texas

POOR Customer Service

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I had my washer go out, and the Tech came out and MIS-Diagnosed the problem and said Fixed. A Few days later, the washer failed. The Tech came out again the Transmission needs to be replaced. The systems said Parts on order and I called to check on the status of the parts 2 days later and the parts still have not been ordered or even approved by AHS. I called and got the run around from the Customer Service folks. No one can get things done here. WASTE of time.
View full review

User's recommendation: Stay away from AHS

Resolved
Eloise H Haw

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Boerne, Texas

Resolved: American Home Shield service

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Updated by user Aug 27, 2023

Company resolved the issue.

Original review Jul 28, 2023
We contacted American Home Shield that our air conditioner drip pan was linking. We are now on our 5th day in 96 to 100 degree weather without air conditioning. We have had to make contact with the company. They have not reached out to us at all. Each time we called they always said they were looking for someone to repair our air conditioner. They fourth day I called I told the representative the problem and I didnt want the same runaround and he is checking to see if we can contact a technician. This is the fifth day and we are still without air conditioning.
View full review

User's recommendation: Choose a different warranty company.