AHS is a Money Pit - You'll be sorry!

I had AHS for almost 15 years on my home. I've had numerous experiences like others, contractors not calling, contractors not showing up, incompetent contractors, money grubbing contractors. Seems to be a theme with AHS vendors, only take those who are seriously lacking capital to grow and bilk the snot out of consumers like you and me. The only trade I ever had a good experience with was the dishwasher guy, he knew his business, did the job, the dishwasher worked and life went on. There is pretty much nothing redeeming about AHS, from the first contact to the contractor walking out your door. There has to be better alternatives out there, I'm sure. I'm just leery of signing on to another bad one. Plus they are expensive and the co-payment goes up every year. $$$$
View full review
ID
#902546 Review #902546 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
American Home Shield Customer Care
Pros
  • Dishwasher repair guy
Cons
  • Any other trade they offered
Reason of review
Bad quality

American Home Shield Customer Care Review

Made 3 sevice requests plus an expediated request for ac repair over 3 weeks and have STILL not been contacted by a contractor to fix the problem. I will not be renewing with this company.
View full review
ID
#902438 Review #902438 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Orlando, Florida
Service
American Home Shield Customer Care
Reason of review
Poor customer service

American Home Shield Customer Care Review from Ashburn, Virginia

The contractors, long wait times, rude customer service representatives are the reason for this review. I've had nothing but problems with this service. From contractor mis diagnosis to no responses in a timely manner. Had an issue with my fridge starting in march of this year. Just now received replacement fridge. Never wanted to replace the fridge ecen though contractor #2 recommended. Finally they did 6 months later. Worst service ever
View full review
ID
#901845 Review #901845 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Ashburn, Virginia
Service
American Home Shield Customer Care
Reason of review
Order processing issue
New Reviewer
Called in service for a leak in my bathroom between my bathroom floor and my downstairs living room ceiling. Called AHS in December 2015 regarding the leak and a vendor was sent A&A Complete service who told AHS we had to tear out our living room ceiling to make sure...
View full review
View full review
ID
#900929 Review #900929 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
East Saint Louis, Illinois
Service
Echo Plumbing Plumbing Service
Pros
  • Quick response from contractor
Cons
  • Repairs when appliances should have been replaced
  • Wait time for service even with a leaking pipe
  • No management available to resolve issues
Reason of review
Damaged or defective
Loss
$10000
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer
I live in Tucson Arizona. And as many people know it gets pretty hot here. Every other year my A/C unit goes out since we have lived in out home. and every other year we have had to fight w/American home shield for repairs. Well my A/C unit has gone out again and...
View full review
View full review
1 comment
#1199876

I am presently going through the same thing with AHS contractors with my central air conditioner and have been without air conditioning since July 29th, 2016. I've gone through one contractor who refuses to come back.

The other will return again for the third time Friday the 19th. Every time they come, they put R22 in the system that leaks right back out and system freezes within 7 hours. When I asked the tech why do you keep doing the same thing with no results, he told me an AHS go between by the name of "Todd" told him NOT to condemn my unit, just keep repairing it!!! I asked him for Todd's number but he would not give it to me.

I called AHS and of course they did not know "Todd". Agent supposedly escalated my complaint to AHS's Contractor Relations Department but agent has not received a response from CRD. As of now, agent at AHS left a message that another contractor will come out for a second opinion.... haven't heard from this contractor nor did AHS agent leave name or number of contractor.

Conveniently, I cannot contact this AHS agent directly and have to go through the robo system only to get another agent who doesn't know what I'm going through until she takes 5 mins to read all the information. Then gives me the standard answer "Recall" At first, I blamed bad contractors working for AHS but now I know none of them could care less.

ID
#900598 Review #900598 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Tucson, Arizona
Product
American Home Shield Air Conditioner Warranty
Cons
  • Customer service
Reason of review
American Home Shield does not care about their customers
Preferred solution
REPLACE MY A/C UNIT! DO NOT BAND-AID LIKE YOU ALWAYS DO REPLACE!

Air condition

We have called 3 times for AC not working prooerly and it is still not working. The contractors they send are alway in hurry and has no time to listern to you and see how they can solve the problem or diagnose and see what can be done. Contractor "Ricks Heating and Air Conditioning" not professional at all. Very rude. Has no time to listern yo uou. They sent him twice. No resolution. Another contractor came at his own time and not at the schedule time. Not resllved the problem. AHS customer service takes hour to talk to someone, no matter what yime of the day you call. It is very hard to work with AHS and the contractors they have. We have been oayong yearly fees for last six years. We are going to discontinue service with AHS. They only want your money and do not want to provide service and customer satisfaction.
View full review
ID
#900389 Review #900389 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Alamo, California
Reason of review
Poor customer service

Horrible customer service

If you want the words "it is our policy" then they are the company to use. They cannot and will not tell the customer the truth or step outside of their comfort zone to try to help....they have left me with no air conditioning for 6 days so far and I am 62 with high blood pressure and going through menopause. Not only that I have no windows in my house, so I can't get a breeze or put in a window unit. This company only cares about their policies not their customers. When they called with my diagnosis, I asked them to send me the detail. They said they would email it, but I never got the detail. I had to call the contractor back and I am trying to get detail from them. I have never been treated this badly. Most companies would care about the health and well being of their customers.
View full review
ID
#899509 Review #899509 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
San Antonio, Texas
Product
American Home Shield Home Warranty
Cons
  • Lack of common sense
  • False information given
  • Wait time on online chat over 30 minutes
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$5900
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Facebook Profile Review from Pensacola, Florida

This company has stopped allowing customers to post on Facebook. There had typically been hundreds of comments every week. 90 plus percent were very negative. Apparently it is easier to change your marketing than fix your horrible service. If you are having trouble with this company, dont waste your time. File a complaint with your state attorney general. You can do this on line. Pay no attention to the few positive reviews. Thats likely fixed. Google this company under class actions and lawsuits. THEY ARE BAD NEWS.
View full review
ID
#899361 Review #899361 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Pensacola, Florida
Product
Facebook American Home Shield Profile
Reason of review
Not as described/ advertised

Air conditioning

Air conditioning been out for nearly 5 weeks and still don't know when it will be repaired, part ordered nearly 2 weeks ago and they still can't tell me how long it will take to arrive. When you call for service you are on hold for between 25 and 43 minutes parts department is waste of space don't know why they have them on the phone as they never answer and if you leave a message they don't return your call. Would never use this company again and I'm cancelling my contract with AHS as they have been no help at all.
View full review
ID
#899302 Review #899302 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Clermont, Florida
Service
Total Air Care Air Conditioner Repair
Cons
  • Timing
  • Leaving me out of service for an unknown amount of time
  • Poor customer service
Reason of review
Poor customer service
New Reviewer

Sick of American Home Shield's lying, cheating, poor quality of appliances & service contractors

I have paid ahs for over 8 years. I have a pool, but recently found out that they have no pool service contractors in Ohio. No wonder I have so much trouble. I got outside authorization last year to get my heater fixed. The contractor had such a hassle with ahs & didn't get paid for three months. They won't come back this year to service my filter. Ahs let me pay the optional fee to cover my pool equipment for all these years, knowing that they didn't have a contractor in the whole state of Ohio. Every service call has been an extreme nightmare for all appliances. I am searching for a new company
View full review
ID
#899296 Review #899296 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Dover, Ohio
Product
American Home Shield Warranty
Cons
  • All of the below
  • Zero follow-up
  • Customer service for repair scheduling and following
Reason of review
All of above
Loss
$1700
Preferred solution
Refund optional pool coverage premiums because they mis represented their services from the beginning of my contract

Asked for service to ac unit, the contractor opened up the unit, removed a working part and claimed he need to order a part and left us without ac, refused to put back the unit in working condition ,

Asked for service to ac unit, the contractor opened up the unit, removed a working part and claimed he need to order a part and left us without ac, refused to put back the unit in working condition , american home shield refused to provide hotel for the night. The contractors are not background checked. I complained about two units, they wanted two service fees. Janice the supervisor was not very cooperative.Asked for service to ac unit, the contractor opened up the unit, removed a working part and claimed he need to order a part and left us without ac, refused to put back the unit in working condition , american home shield refused to provide hotel for the night
View full review
ID
#899022 Review #899022 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
San Antonio, Texas
Cons
  • Lack of responsibility
  • Deceptive marketing practices
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$125
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

Left without Air Conditioning in Arizona

I am a single mom, raising a child with Asperger's Syndrome on my own. I bought the plan with American Home Shield to cover any eventualities in my home. My air conditioning stopped cooling on Monday August 9th, 2016. I opened a service request online at 9 pm on Monday. On Tuesday morning I contacted AHS via phone to make sure a tech was being sent out. They told me JJs Fire and Ice wouldbe coming out. JJs called me to schedule. They could not get here until Thursday. I asked them about their price on freon, they informed me they charge $60 a pound. I called AHS to get an expedited call because of my son, it is asking a lot of a special needs child to deal with no AZ in Arizona in the middle of summer. They agreed to expedite. They assigned consolidated Mechanical, and Consolidated Mechanical said they could handle the expedited request. They never called to schedule. I finally called them Wednesday morning after not hearing anything from them on Tuesday. They informed me that I had failed to respond to the voicemail they left me. They did not leave me a voicemail. I called AHS (these calls take an average of one hour each, minimum) and informed them of what was going on. They assigned a third company to come out, Sweet Mountain Air and Cooling. Sweet Mountain did finally show up, on Thursday. David from Sweet Mountain climbed up on my roof and came back down and told me there was a leak. He recommended some leak seal and freon. This sounded to me like a really bad way to fix a unit I depend on. I asked him how many pounds of freon I would need. He had no answer. I asked him how much he charges for freon, he quoted $80 a pound. At this point I felt fairly certain that I was being ripped off. I asked him to leave. I called AHS to explain. They hung up on me. I called a few times today trying to get some kind of satisfactory answer, no one will explain anything. I asked how much I would expect if I just cash out instead of dealing with this company. They told me it is not eligible for cash out. While I was on the phone, they called and left me a message to tell me they "approved the covered repairs", and my portion would be $280. So far this year I have paid this company over $700 in premiums. I paid $75 for this tech to come out. Now, according to them, my portion is $280 while their portion they refuse to disclose and refuse to cash out so I can find a contractor who will not rob me for the cost of freon. In the meantime, I am stuck with no A/C. I have called this company repeatedly. I have contacted 7 on your side, I have contacted and filed a complaint through the Better Business Bureau. I have repeatedly asked that supervisor contact me, none have. I am apparently locked into a contract where I have no choice but to pay the $280. I tried to get them to only do the covered portion of the labor, no go. I tried to negotiate a better rate, no go. I have no choice but to suffer with no A/C as the result of dealing with this company. I have tried to cancel my contract and get a refund and there appears to be no one ever working in that department. I spent 40 minutes waiting for them to answer earlier today, and just requested them again only to be told they are closed. I have repeatedly asked for a supervisor, and I have yet to have one return my call, and I have asked at least four times. This looks like Interstate Insurance Fraud paired with some very shady contractor deals and some really terrible customer service agents fronting for all of it.
View full review
ID
#898917 Review #898917 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Chandler, Arizona
Service
Sweet Mountain Air Cooling And Heating Air Conditioner Repair
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Today is Thursday, August 11, 2016. Our central air unit went out 8 days ago, Thursday, August 4, 2016, with the temperature in the upper 90s to low 100s range for this entire week. AHS sent a technician out from their local contractor, Meyers Air Conditioning, late...
View full review
View full review
ID
#898832 Review #898832 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Montgomery, Alabama
Reason of review
Order processing issue
New Reviewer

Terrible Liars

Stuck with Mr Appliance due to AHS home warranty. They have been out at least 20 times and unable to fix my Bosch dishwasher. Techs Vlad and Jim very respectful, knowledgable and are willing to take the time needed to investigate, test and make recommendations. Tech Jason disrespectful, raises his voice and lies. When I made today's appointment and confirmation noted Jim was tech. When Jason got here he said it was Jims day off. He later said he just called Jim while Jim was at another clients and talked to him. After a couple of hours (more time spent in my driveway smoking than repairing the dishwasher) Jason advised its running. He became very uncomfortable when I asked if he checked it like the other tech to confirm its repaired (it does eventually run) and what next steps will be. He left stating its running (again not the issue) he had other clients and for me to call his office. He was here before and lied to me and AHS about the repair so AHS refused to come out again. In that instance he told me he was reporting one thing but actually reported something very different to AHS. I had to wait months for new contract before they would send someone out again. Because of him lying and raising his voice to me I requested Mr Appliance not send Jason again. When I tried starting the dishwasher again it did the same thing (it wasn't repaired) so I called Mr Appliance. Office manager James lied saying AHS called him out of the blue half an hour prior to me calling him to tell him they are replacing dishwasher. He refused to tell me who called and what was said and denied Mr Appliance called AHS. He also lied when I asked what was reported to AHS for today's service. I feared Jason was doing the same thing he did the last time. He read me service notes from previous visit. He finally refused to read me the notes sent to AHS saying I am not the client. AHS advised James called them and recommended replacement. The unprofessionalism and lies are deeply troubling. And unnecessary because after 1 1/2 years of Mr Appliance inability to repair the dishwasher I don't mind AHS replacing it.
View full review
ID
#898825 Review #898825 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Hopewell, New Jersey
Service
Mr Appliance Dishwasher Repair
Pros
  • Good techs vlad and jim
Cons
  • Disrespectful liars jason and james
  • Unethical people
Reason of review
Bad quality
Loss
$200
Preferred solution
Full refund

Terrible Customer Service!!! *** Poor!!! Dodging needed repairs/replacements!!!!

First things first.....I tried to schedule my service by speaking directly with a customer service agent.....almost impossible to do. I waited between 25-30 minutes while listening to some squelching music(I think their outgoing music was messed up)before hanging up and trying to call again. Called back and finally reached an agent after another 20 minute wait. Just for perspective I was also on my computer at the same time attempting to utilize their "chat service". I was 18th in the ***. I realize I can schedule the service call via their voice prompt system or online, but I specifically wanted to speak to someone about my particular issue feeling the recent history of service calls was pertinent to my situation. Finally reaching an agent I described my issue. My 17-18 year old water heater was delivering rusty water. Twice already AHS has sent out a service repairman to "flush" my water heater. I had already done so twice myself prior to this. FYI, the average life of a water heater is 8-12 years. Once again after the last flush I am again experiencing rusty water. This has been over the course of the last 120 days or so. I've done enough research and talked with enough people to know that the water heater liner is beginning to fail, thus the rusty water. So, proactively, for my third service call, I spoke directly with the service repairman before he came to my house so I could to describe the details of my specific situation. He too agreed with me that the more than likely cause of the rusty water was the liner. He volunteered to call AHS prior to coming to see what they would "cover". He mentioned there would likely be a few things that I would need to cover as building codes have changed since my water heater had been installed. I understood that. He said he would call me back in 20-30 minutes. After about 45 minutes he called me back. He was apologetic, but said AHS had him on hold for the last 40 minutes. AHS told him the only thing they would consider covering would be another flush. It "appears" that they won't pay for a failed water heater until it begins to leak. Tell me what sense that makes??? Let's wait until it completely fails, and we're now looking at water damage too!!! Bottom line......both the service repairman and I concluded that it would do absolutely no good to flush the water heater another time so we collectly passed on another service call. It would be a waste of time and money. No kidding!!!! Sooo frustrating. Clearly when it comes time for me to re-up on my warranty, it will not be with AHS. And, I urge any of you who are considering AHS as a home warranty company to pass and look elsewhere too.
View full review
ID
#898753 Review #898753 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Cornelius, North Carolina
Service
American Home Shield Customer Care
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$700
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution